ReconnectDonate NowLogin

Physical Education Scholarships

Marge Bohlen Scholarship Award (women’s basketball)
The Marge Bohlen Scholarship Award was established in the spring of 1988. This award honors a member of the women’s basketball team who best typifies characteristics of Marge Bohlen: leadership, academic excellence and dynamic motivation. Marge Bohlen received her Master’s degree from Northwestern in 1983. She was the late wife of Dr. David Bohlen, Dean of the School of Natural Science, Mathematics and Computer Science at Northwestern.

Gene Filson Scholarship (baseball)
Funds for this scholarship were presented in 1990 by the family of Gene Filson. Gene was very active in the community and served many years as Homecoming Association Treasurer and served as Grand Marshal of the Homecoming Parade. Because of his organization of the Filson Oilers baseball team in Alva, which involved many Ranger baseball players, this scholarship was established to provide financial assistance for a member of the Ranger men’s baseball team. The candidate for this scholarship must possess characteristics of leadership, high morals, dedication, academic merit, and athletic ability.

Northwestern Hall of Fame Scholarship
This scholarship was established in 1999 by an initial contribution from Dr. Randy and Mitzi Smith. Other contributions were also received from a fundraising campaign initiated by Dr. Smith. After the 1999 National Football Championship, the Northwestern Athletic Department donated the $20,000 championship gift from the Paine Webber Corporation to aid in the fundraising efforts. This scholarship honors an outstanding representative from all of the varsity sports at Northwestern. The purpose of this scholarship is to honor a Northwestern student-athlete who exhibits the highest levels of character, integrity, athletic, and academic excellence. Recipient must have at least a 2.5 GPA.

Perry Irons Basketball Scholarship (basketball)
This scholarship was established in 1997 by Perry Irons in honor of J.E. ‘Jenks’ Simmons, who coached at Northwestern from 1933-1940. Irons graduated in 1939 and lettered in two sports: baseball and basketball. Simmons was described as the type of coach that anyone who had any interest in athletics would want to play for. As coach and player respectively, Simmons and Irons were conference champions in basketball and represented Oklahoma in Mexico City. They also competed in two national AAU tournaments and played in the Oklahoma City tournament, losing to Arkansas by only one point. Awarded to a member of both the Northwestern men’s and women’s varsity basketball team, the recipient must have at least a 2.5 GPA and must be a resident of Oklahoma.

Tom McDaniel Scholarship
This award was established in 1986, by the McDaniel family in honor of Tom being named an Outstanding Graduate of Northwestern. McDaniel earned a bachelor’s degree from Northwestern in 1960 and was awarded a juris doctorate in law from the University of Oklahoma in 1963. Before being named Northwestern’s 17th president, McDaniel was vice-president of Kerr-McGee Corporation and a member of the board of directors. McDaniel is the first alumnus to serve as president in Northwestern’s 103-year history. The selected scholarship recipient must be an athlete who best typifies characteristics exhibited by Tom McDaniel as a Northwestern student-athlete: leadership, dedication, academic merit, and athletic ability.

W.D. and Lucille B. Newby Scholarship
Following their marriage in 1929, the Newbys resided in Alva where Mr. Newby coached at Northwestern. In 1941 he became head coach and the Director of Athletics. He served Northwestern with distinction until his death in 1964. The football field was named in his honor “Newby Field.” Mrs. Newby’s 38-year teaching career in Alva began in 1945 when she started Alva’s first kindergarten at Horace Mann School. She later taught English in the Alva Public Schools until retiring in 1970. This scholarship is awarded to NWOSU continuing student majoring in Health and Physical Education or in a wellness/nutrition field of study. The recipient must have a 3.0 GPA. Oklahoma residents and those candidates who exhibit strong leadership skills will be given priority.

Lt. Mike Warehime Memorial Scholarship
A 1975 graduate, Lt. Mike Warehime was the first Northwestern ROTC product to receive a Second Lieutenant’s commission in the Regular Army. He commanded the cadet corps and had earned the highly coveted emblem of U. S. Army Ranger. He was killed in a helicopter crash at Fort Benning, GA., on March 20, 1976. The award recipient is chosen from outstanding students in the northwest Oklahoma area who are physical education majors. The recipient must be involved in campus life and be identified as a potential leader.

Walter “Junior” Johnson Scholarship
Established in 1998 by family and friends of Walter “Jr.” Johnson, the purpose of this scholarship is to provide assistance to a Northwestern student athlete pursuing a degree in physical education or a related field. Walter “Junior” Johnson played four years for Northwestern and later coached or assisted in all sports for 35 years. Coach Johnson was chosen as a Northwestern Sports Hall of Fame inductee in 1993, a member of the inaugural group honored by Northwestern. Recipient must have a 2.5 GPA and come from within 150 miles of Alva.


Back to Top


Phone: (580) 327-8593
Fax: (580) 327-8499

Northwestern Foundation & Alumni Association
709 Oklahoma Blvd.
Alva, OK 73717

© Copyright 2015 Northwestern Foundation & Alumni Association. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy